National Park Hunsrück-Hochwald

The project:

The Hunsrück-Hochwald National Park crosses state borders (Saarland and Rhineland-Palatinate) and is the 16th German national park, opened in May 2015. In order to familiarise visitors with the park and its diversity, three information centres with different focal points are planned. They will act as an actual and, above all, thematic entrance to the National Park. The only entrance gate on the Saarland side is in Nonnweiler.

The task:

Erlebniskontor was entrusted with a basic study. Besides a feasibility study with a visitor forecast, this also included the financial and organisational aspects (investment cost estimate, ongoing operations and financing models).

Part of the study was also to elaborate a sketch of ideas for the experiential exhibition, which introduce visitors to the phenomenon of protected primeval forest and, at the same time, present and convey the rich Celtic cultural history of the region. Getting lots of participants and topics into one place, or under one roof, and reconciling them with one another, as well as enabling national park issues to be dealt with even beyond state borders, is a challenge. We tackled this in joint workshops and in close cooperation with the public infrastructure company, LEG Saar, the municipality and district, Saarland forest and tourist associations, as well as other partners.

In 2015, the analysis of the framework conditions for the implementation of various visitor centres as “portals to the national park or national park gates” on the Rhineland-Palatinate side followed. Here, too, Erlebniskontor examined the locations, possible topics and economic and organisational framework conditions. The necessities and requirements for the marketing and networking of the various new gates was a further focal point. With the new exhibition in Hunsrückhaus, the first gate was officially opened at the end of 2018. The new visitor centre in Nonnweiler am Keltenpark will follow by 2020.

Together with our partner company PROFUND Consult, we also advised the municipality of Nonnweiler on the development of a tourism concept in 2018. Using the analysis of the framework conditions and taking current trends and requirements in tourism into account, strategies for Nonnweiler and action plans for Peterberg and the Peterberg leisure centre were compiled.

Nationalpark Hunsrück-Hochwald

Das Projekt:

Der länderübergreifende Nationalpark Hunsrück-Hochwald (Saarland und Rheinland-Pfalz) ist der 16. deutsche Nationalpark und wurde im Mai 2015 eröffnet. Um den Besuchern das Thema und die Vielfalt näher zu bringen, sind drei Infozentren mit unterschiedlichen inhaltlichen Schwerpunkten angedacht. Sie fungieren als reale und v.a. auch thematische Eingangstore in den Nationalpark. In Nonnweiler entsteht das einzige Tor auf saarländischer Seite.

 

Die Aufgabe:

Erlebniskontor wurde mit einer Grundlagenstudie betraut, die neben einer Machbarkeitsstudie inkl. Besuchsprognose auch ökonomische und organisatorische Aspekte (Investitionskostenschätzung, laufender Betrieb und Finanzierungsmodelle) umfasst.

Teil der Untersuchung war auch die Erarbeitung einer Ideenskizze für die Erlebnisausstellung, die in das Phänomen schützenswerter Ur-Wald einführen und zugleich die in der Region reiche keltische Kulturgeschichte vorstellen und vermitteln kann. Viele Beteiligte und Themen in ein Haus bzw. „unter ein Dach“ zu bekommen, sowie über die Landesgrenze hinweg Nationalpark-Geschehen zu ermöglichen – diese Herausforderung haben wir in gemeinsamen Workshops und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der LEG Saar, der Gemeinde und dem Kreis, aber auch den Saarländischen Forsten und Touristikern sowie weiteren Partnern angenommen.

Im Jahr 2015 folgte die Analyse der Rahmenbedingungen der Umsetzung verschiedener Besucherzentren als „Portale zum Nationalpark bzw. Nationalparktore“ auf Seiten Rheinland-Pfalz. Auch hier wurden die Standorte, mögliche Themen und ökonomischen und organisatorischen Rahmenbedingungen von Erlebniskontor beleuchtet. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt waren die Notwendigkeiten und Anforderungen an die Vermarktung und Vernetzung der unterschiedlichen neuen Tore. Mit der neuen Ausstellung im Hunsrückhaus wurde Ende 2018 das erste Tor offiziell eröffnet. Bis 2020 folgt das neue Besucherzentrum in Nonnweiler am Keltenpark.

Zusammen mit unserem Partnerunternehmen PROFUND Consult haben wir zudem 2018 die Gemeinde Nonnweiler bei der Erarbeitung eines Tourismuskonzeptes beraten. Mithilfe der Analyse der Rahmenbedingungen und Betrachtung aktueller Trends und Anforderungen im Tourismus, wurden Strategien für Nonnweiler insgesamt und Handlungsmaßnahmen für den Standort Peterberg und das gleichnamige Freizeitzentrum Peterberg erarbeitet.