Chocoversum by Hachez Brand Experience

The project:

In CHOCOVERSUM by HACHEZ, visitors follow the path of cocoa – from cultivation to the finished chocolate bar. The individual production steps are demonstrated on the vintage machines used to make the chocolate by the manufacturer from Bremen, HACHEZ. In December 2011, CHOCOVERSUM by HACHEZ was opened in the old part of Hamburg’s central district, but guests in the first year of operation only totalled 62,000, which was way below the anticipated figures.

The task:

In September 2012, the operation was assigned to Wissenswelten Management GmbH with the aim of achieving and ensuring long-term profitability of the business. Ensuring that visitors enjoyed themselves was at the heart of the restructuring process. All the exhibits and structural conditions were achieved, but the visitor concept was changed from one of free-flow to guided tours. Today, all visitors are escorted around the exhibition in tours lasting 90 minutes. At the same time, a highlight was incorporated into the visitor programme: the chocolate workshop where each guest can create their own bar of chocolate. The new exhibition concept meets the needs of attaining a more personal and individual approach, and has heightened visitor satisfaction considerably. Key positions in the organisational chart were taken over by Wissenswelten Management GmbH. With targeted marketing and sales activities, new target groups were exploited, especially in the group segment. In addition, a substantial increase in income was attained by reviewing the shop concept. The number of visitors went up by around 40% in the first 12 months. This positive development is continuing to the current day, meaning that CHOCOVERSUM is now able to welcome more than 220,000 visitors every year. In 2016, structural investments were made in order to modernise the premises and expand capacity.

Wissenswelten Management GmbH continues to run CHOCOVERSUM as a partner alongside HACHEZ. The core team comprises 13 staff, who look after the profitability and optimise visitor satisfaction on a daily business by means of measures such as updating process chains, service design, staff coaching and the introduction of a flexible price system (yield management).

Marken- und Erlebniswelt Chocoversum by Hachez

Das Projekt:

Im Chocoversum by Hachez verfolgen die Besucher den Weg des Kakaos vom Anbau bis zur fertigen Tafel Schokolade. Die einzelnen Produktionsschritte werden dabei an historischen Maschinen des Bremer Herstellers Hachez gezeigt. Im Dezember 2011 wurde das Chocoversum by Hachez in Hamburgs Altstadt eröffnet, verfehlte jedoch mit 62.000 Gästen im ersten Betriebsjahr die angestrebten Besucherzahlen deutlich.

 

Die Aufgabe:

Im September 2012 wurde der Betreiberauftrag an die Wissenswelten Management GmbH erteilt mit der Zielsetzung, die positive Wirtschaftlichkeit des Betriebs herzustellen und langfristig zu sichern. Im Fokus der Umstrukturierung stand die Besucherzufriedenheit. Alle Exponate und baulichen Gegebenheiten wurden erhalten, das Besuchskonzept jedoch von free-flow auf geführte Touren geändert. Heute werden alle Besucher in Gruppen 90 Minuten lang durch die Ausstellung geführt. Gleichzeitig wurde ein Besuchshighlight implementiert: die Schokoladenwerkstatt, in der jeder Gast eine eigene Tafel Schokolade selbst kreiert. Das neue Ausstellungskonzept wird dem Trend zu mehr Persönlichkeit und Individualität gerecht und steigert die Besucherzufriedenheit maßgeblich. Durch die Wissenswelten Management GmbH wurden Schlüsselpositionen im Organigramm besetzt. Mit gezielten Marketing und Vertriebsaktivitäten konnten neue Zielgruppen erschlossen werden, insbesondere im Gruppensegment. Zusätzlich konnte durch die Überarbeitung des Shopkonzeptes eine deutliche Einnahmesteigerung verzeichnet werden. Binnen der ersten 12 Monate wurde die Besucherzahl um gut 40% gesteigert. Bis heute hält die positive Entwicklung an, sodass das Chocoversum mittlerweile über 220.000 Besucher jährlich begrüßt. 2016 wurden zur Kapazitätssteigerung und Modernisierung bauliche Investitionen getätigt.

Die Wissenswelten Management GmbH betreibt das Chocoversum weiterhin mit Hachez als Partner. 13 Mitarbeiter im Kernteam kümmern sich täglich um die Optimierung von Besucherzufriedenheit und Wirtschaftlichkeit durch Maßnahmen wie Prozesskettenpflege, Service Design, Personalcoaching und die Einführung eines flexiblen Preissystems (Yield Management).